About me

I am a third year Ph.D. student studying computer science at University of Pennsylvania, advised by Prof. Boon Thau Loo. I also work closely with Prof. Mohammad Javad Amiri and Prof. Ryan Marcus. My current research focuses on blockchains and machine learning in data management systems.


The Bedrock of Byzantine Fault Tolerance: A Unified Platform for BFT Protocols Analysis, Implementation, and Experimentation
Mohammad Javad Amiri, Chenyuan Wu, Divyakant Agrawal, Amr El Abbadi, Boon Thau Loo, and Mohammad Sadoghi
21st USENIX Symposium on Networked Systems Design and Implementation (NSDI), April 2024.

AdaChain: A Learned Adaptive Blockchain
Chenyuan Wu, Bhavana Mehta, Mohammad Javad Amiri, Ryan Marcus, and Boon Thau Loo
49th conference on Very Large Databases (VLDB), Aug 2023.

FlexChain: An Elastic Disaggregated Blockchain
Chenyuan Wu, Mohammad Javad Amiri, Jared Asch, Heena Nagda, Qizhen Zhang, and Boon Thau Loo
49th conference on Very Large Databases (VLDB), Aug 2023.

Synthesizing Formal Network Specifications from Input-Output Examples
Haoxian Chen, Chenyuan Wu, Andrew Zhao, Mukund Raghothaman, Mayur Naik, and Boon Thau Loo
IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking (ToN), 2022.

Provenance for Probabilistic Logic Programs
Shaobo Wang, Hui Lyu, Jiachi Zhang, Chenyuan Wu, Xinyi Chen, Wenchao Zhou, Boon Thau Loo, Susan B. Davidson, and Chen Chen
23rd International Conference on Extending Database Technology, (EDBT), Apr 2020. Best Paper Award.


Course Designer and Teaching Assistant
CIS 553 online: Networked Systems, Fall 2021, Spring 2022


  • Journal Reviewer: Transactions on Storage, Transactions on Dependable and Secure Computing
  • External Reviewer: CIKM 2022, WORDS 2021, CoNEXT 2020
  • Organizer: Penn DSL Seminar


  • VLDB Travel Award, 2023
  • PhD Fellowship in University of Pennsylvania, 2020
  • President’s Scholarship in Beijing Jiaotong University (10 out of 15,000), 2019
  • Chinese National Scholarship, 2019
  • Chinese National Scholarship, 2017
  • Second Prize in the National College Physics Competition, 2017